My new skin care routine

When I was a teenager, I never really cared about my skin. I don’t mind staying and playing under the sun. I never liked wearing sunblock and putting on lotion on a daily basis because of that icky, gunky feeling I get each time. And don’t get me started on the acne, oooh, boy, they were there and they made sure that I (and everybody else) knew. My family didn’t have much back then, so skin care (or going to the dermatologist to deal with the acne problem) wasn’t a priority.

 

You could say that I’m a late bloomer. It was only when I was a sophomore in college that started to look for ways to manage my breakouts and improve my skin condition. I didn’t like wearing makeup then so the ultimate goal was get clearer skin.

 

I tried almost everything in the market – from Maxipeel to derma-prescribed skin care sets – as long as it was within the budget (which wasn’t much), I bought and tried it. I’m quite adventurous because my skin wasn’t sensitive – it’s oily as hell but it was never sensitive – until my skin got a life of its own and decided to go “high-strung” on me. In short, my skin is NOW crazy oily AND ultra-sensitive TO. THE. MAX.

 

I get rashes and red patches every now and then, but the worse one happened a month ago where it left a big white halo around a reddish patch on the right side of my face. It turned out to be spores, in ugly layman’s term: fungi (buni). Yech! I don’t know how I got it. I always change my towel every week. I clean my brushes every 3-4 days. I’m a sucker for hand-washing, so I’m clueless! Anyway, the beautiful doctor gave me a cream to apply for 15 days and it worked, thank goodness. Aside from that, however, she advised me to start using gentle cleansers in my face and body. Yes, focus on the GENTLE, people. I need to stop experimenting on my skin, especially on my face.

 

First, she advised me to use the Cetaphil gentle skin cleanser on my face and Dove white soap and urea lotion on my body. And my skin got better – softer and more moisturized. Bye, itchiness!

 

Before I ran out of the Cetaphil cleanser and urea lotion, I started to look for options so I can maintain the skin care routine without breaking the bank. It turned out that Cetaphil cleanser is the best in the market. As for the urea lotion, I haven’t found one readily available here in the Philippines so I decided to look for an alternative and Cetaphil moisturizing lotion is the preferred one to relieve eczema. Luckily, I found an IG seller who sells authentic Cetaphil products at a much lower price.

 

I also started using L’oreal micellar water (bluish purple) as a toner since it is gentle on the skin, removes makeup and leaves my skin moisturized. On the weekends, to pamper my skin (because of the hot weather), I slather my face with The Face Shop Jeju Aloe as a mask (or The Face Shop mask in Lemon Citron or Green Mung Bean). I have oily skin (need to get that out again) and when I tried doing this on a daily basis, i noticed that my face was producing more oil so I decided to do it only once a week or if I’m not going anywhere. But go ahead and try it for yourself, so you’ll see how your skin would react. I suggest doing it on days when you don’t have an important presentation or special date – stress or excitement can add up to the oil production. 🙂

 

I’m sure that you all want to know how much I spent on these products so here you go (you’re welcome!):

 

  • Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser (473ml) – Php450
  • Cetaphil Daily Moisturizer (473ml) – Php500 (both bought from an IG seller)
  • L’oreal Micellar Water for oily skin (250 ml) – Php199 (actual price is Php250, but got this on sale)
  • The Face Shop Jeju Aloe (500ml) – Php199
  • The Face Shop Face Mask in Lemon Citron or Green Mung Bean – Php65 each

 

They seem a bit pricey when you buy them all at the same time, but most of the products will last you for months, so for me, it’s worth it. Try these with caution though, because what worked for me may not work for you so well.

 

Let me know how it goes. You can also share your most trusted skin care routine/regimen/product. I’d love to hear from everyone! Thank you in advance. ❤

Leave a Reply

